Skip to content
February 3, 2015 / Althir

#274: Back Again

Good thing I didn't delete the scene.

Click the image to see a full resolution version.

For Christmas 2005, my parents got me a copy of F.E.A.R.. I was fifteen years old at the time, the game is 18+. I like my parents. This particular edition of the game came with some bonus features, including Episode 0 of a machinima called P.A.N.I.C.S. – “People Acting Normal In Crazy-Ass Situations”. It was a short video and I didn’t understand a whole lot of it – that was before I really started learning English. Later, I found the other, what, five or so episodes there were of P.A.N.I.C.S. and I learned that the people who made it had a different, long-running machinima called “Red vs Blue” (Side note, by complete coincidence this issue actually quotes RvB verbatim). I started watching that and I’ve seen it so much that I could probably quote entire episodes verbatim if asked to. Those same people are also the reason I bought an Xbox 360, and the reason the first game I ever got for it was Brütal Legend.

I speak of Rooster Teeth. To this day, I watch their videos – mostly those by Achievement Hunter – regularly.

Earlier today, while I was posing the frames for the comic, I learned that Monty Oum – who was in charge of Motion Capture for later series of RvB and the entirety of RWBY – had passed away. Now, I’m not a fan of Monty’s work. Personally, I feel RvB went downhill when he got in, but I wouldn’t connect that to him as much as to the writing of the episodes, and I don’t like RWBY much at all. That does not, however, mean I welcome his entirely too early (he was thirty-three) demise. It is a tragedy and from what I read it could’ve been avoided entirely. And while I am not the best when it comes to empathy, I do feel sorry for his friends, family and co-workers. Rest in peace, Mr. Oum. I hope they don’t bury you in that silly Motion Capture suit.

