Skip to content
August 22, 2014 / Althir

#24.

That marzipan has some bloody sharp edges.

Click the image to see a full resolution version.

Birthday again. Huzzah. Seems like that happens regularly. That can’t be right.

The other day I was up in the attic, visiting the guy building his strange machine looking for a power strip. Instead I found a leather bag containing two cigar boxes. In those boxes were post cards and envelopes. And stamps. It seems I hail from a line of philatelists (shaming my name for eighteen generations) and this is the collection of my great-grandfather and his father. There’s a LOT of stuff in there from the second world war. Yep, that includes post cards and stamps with Hitler on them, and a fair amount of swastikas. But also pre-Hitler stuff. The oldest thing I’ve found was a post card stamped in 1875, which literally predates Hitler altogether. It’s pretty astonishing and considering their age they seem to be in rather decent condition as well.

