Skip to content
February 28, 2014 / Althir

#198: Overpriced

I say it's enchanted gold.

Click the image to see a full resolution version.

You know, if it were made of gold (I’m not saying it’s not, but I’m not saying it is either) that would explain why it’s so heavy.

On Monday I acquired a copy of Windows 8.1 free of charge. An entirely legal copy, mind you, through the university. I’m going to go and install that now, on a second partition I for some reason already have. Wish me luck, or mock me mercilessly. Your choice.

Edit: Well. I wrote the above before installing Windows 8.1, now that’s done and I’d like to say a few words about it.

Firstly, fuck Metro. That’s the most important bit. Fuck Metro right in its stupid fucking face. This is no way to treat a Desktop user, this shit is for touch screens. Thankfully there’s a way to get Windows 7’s start menu instead (note that I skipped Vista and 7 by sticking with XP and then Ubuntu, this is my first NT 6.x).

Secondly, fuck the Skype app. It’s atrocious. Luckily I still had the standalone client downloaded, so that didn’t even come close to stopping me.

But, aside from those two, I’m actually quite okay with Windows 8.1. It’s a 32 Bit version, of course, I don’t have the RAM to justify a 64 Bit one. Blender and GIMP are installed and work alright, the render times are not noticeably different, but Blender doesn’t freeze up the way it did before (don’t ask me why, I haven’t a clue)… it is, on the whole, a much fancier OS than XP could ever hope to be, especially without the Royale theme that refused to install properly. Tried a few games, too, the performance doesn’t seem to be different, so that’s alright.

2 Comments

  1. Ivan / Mar 1 2014 10:41 am

    -chuckles- Sorry to hear about that. But yeah, Window 8 has got a colossal problem with User Experience.
    Most of it is because Metro is a completely different OS to Desktop, and they’ve been stitched together in a bad Frankenstein way. I’ve used Win8 to the degree where i had to remove it and install Win7 back onto it, but from what i saw, neither system is inherently bad until they get put together. If Win-RT (the tablet version of Win8) was just Metro, and the proper win8 was just desktop, i reckon people would love it (mostly)

    • Althir / Mar 1 2014 11:14 am

      Three words. Classic. Start. Menu. One can still open Metro, if one were so inclined (though I really can’t see why anyone would be), but the start button simply brings up the same menu that was in Windows 7. From that point on, it’s a blast.
      Although, I DO use Metro. Not the Dashboard, mind, but the Games app. The Win8 – version of Pinball FX 2, as opposed to the equally “freemium” XBLA version, comes with a free table.

Comments are closed.

