Skip to content
February 7, 2014 / Althir

#192: Entry

"They seem friendly."

Click the image to see a full resolution version.

It’s Vertex Paint. I should’ve recognised its potential much, much sooner.

When I implemented the new character models (or rather, the new character heads) I started a new .blend file. With some more structure this time round. There’s a layer for props, there’s a layer for NPCs, there’s a layer for prefabs… and brand new, a layer for poses. Nothing fancy. Base stuff. So, I want a character walking across a room? I copy the pose onto them, then tweak it until it fits what I was going for. Certain limbs are exempt from this, including the hands and eyes, because it’d be the opposite of helpful if I overrode these poses all the time.

