Skip to content
January 31, 2014 / Althir

#190: Pachydemic

Hope you like miasma!

Click the image to see a full resolution version.

With these pachyderms, I didn’t actually go ahead and grab a reference image off Google. They’re rather simplistic and much more stylised than the Gorgon (interestingly enough). As such, I wager they hold up much better in closeup.

I very deliberately implemented only a small part of the carnage outside Koganusan. It would have taken much longer and been much, much too graphic for my taste.

And it really was Stark Raving Mad who implemented Project Fuck The World. I do my research.

Level editors.  All too few games have them. Of those that actually deserve the names, I only ever managed to figure out two. One was for the old Tomb Raider games, shipped with TR: Chronicles. Man did I ever spend a lot of time faffing about with that bugger. The way that engine was set up, one could make bodies of water that are entered through the sides or bottom. Oddly enough, exiting that way doesn’t quite work.
The second one was about six years later: Monolith published the F.E.A.R. SDK, which contained (among other, less useful things) WorldEdit. Unlike the Tomb Raider one, this was a full-on 3D editor. A properly useful one. Tomb Raider, you see, was build from blocks. Rather a stiff system, which really quite fits the games if you ask me. Never liked them too much. Getting sidetracked. The last time I used WorldEdit was probably around 2008 or 2009. Definitely not after switching to Linux – it doesn’t run well on Wine. I tried. So, the other day, I reinstalled F.E.A.R., then the Public Tools. After having used Blender 3D on a thoroughly regular basis for like two years now… wow. This is incredibly different. But, it’s remarkable how much of that stuff was still in some dusty drawer in my mind. Now, nobody actually plays F.E.A.R. anymore – it’s an eight year old game and the Multiplayer was never particularly good – but I suppose I rather could have some fun in that editor. Faff about with the surprisingly good AI, for a start.

No, I never got into Hammer.

