Skip to content
January 28, 2014 / Althir

#189: Ah. Family.

Mike's her favourite uncle.

Click the image to see a full resolution version.

I bought a book today. A real, paper-and-ink book. Its title is “Guards! Guards!”… I already have it on my Kindle, but I thought it’d be nice to have a “real” book every now and then. Plus, real books are not known to need recharging. My Kindle ran out of power earlier today. While I was out, of course. Would’ve been too easy otherwise I reckon. Anyway. Once I’m through Pyramids, which won’t take much longer, I’ll have a bit of that. Then a bit more. You get the idea.

In other news, using a wired Xbox 360 controller, I found out that Half-Life 2 (and, probably, the other Source games as well) actually works exceptionally well with a gamepad. In that it a) goes for the Xbox 360 button layout and b) changes the UI to accomodate the keyboardless nature of the gamepad. Weapon selection works exactly the same way as it does on the Xbox, with the D-Pad accessing sort of a cross-shaped inventory rather than the well-known mousewheel thingy. I’m so going to try the other Source games. Curiosity be damned. I don’t even like Counter-Strike.

