Skip to content
December 10, 2013 / Althir

#176: Overused Trope

"You have engraved crossbow bolts? That is SO COOL!"

Click the image to see a full resolution version.

This one, to be precise. Though it’s not a gunshot. You get the idea anyway.

The bolts those hand crossbows shoot are, of course, far too short to do this. I just really wanted it to happen anyway. F.E.A.R. has spoiled me. The Penetrator is an awesome weapon, despite its juvenile name.

I’ve been playing Alan Wake. It’s… it’s like a self-aware Stephen King story. So much so that the very first words spoken are in fact his name. Several scenes are outright compared to his works, including the iconic axe vs door scene in The Shining. They’re not even trying to be subtle.

We got our first snow last week. On Friday, I got caught in a snowstorm on my way to work. That was actually pretty cool. Speaking of work, one of my coworkers is an older bloke with a big white bushy beard. Can you see where this is going? No? Well, on said Friday, he walked about dressed in red, handing out chocolate to everyone. He really looks the part: Several times when I sent a fresh employee to him (and the work force does fluctuate an awful lot) and they didn’t know who I was referring to, I just told them to go find Santa. Works every time.

