Skip to content
May 21, 2013 / Althir

#115: Dun Dun DUNN!

Stop that.

Click the image to see a full resolution version.

Earlier this month, a new version of Blender 3D was released. It includes something called Freestyle, which is an outline rendering engine. Outlines, in case it’s not painfully obvious, are something I use and Freestyle is so much better than the old (and thankfully still present) Edge feature. But when I tried to render the comic using it, Blender froze (and took the entire computer with it), then crashed. Over and over I tried, eventually only rendering a single character and nothing else. In the end, it turns out Freestyle tries to calculate the outline for each hair individually, which doesn’t exactly work very well. So, I keep using Edge because the outline is so not worth getting rid of the hair.

Yesterday, I finished Assassin’s Creed: Revelations. About bloody time, and a pretty decent game too. Today, I finished F.3.A.R. – also about bloody time, but not as good a game (though it does warrant use of the adjective bloody). Then I installed Metro 2033. Let’s see if I can’t finish that until Friday (seeing as though I have to work the next two days).

