Skip to content
April 30, 2013 / Althir

#109: Bricks

We look for reason and come up empty-handed.

Click the image to see a full resolution version.

I shouldn’t have done that. The fourth frame took almost seven minutes to render and I’m fairly certain it can be blamed at least in part on the latest changes. You may have noticed that their hairstyles aren’t quite the same anymore – most evident looking at Blunt’s hair. That’s because the change I was going for messed up the particle systems because it was a fairly big operation on the meshes.

What am I getting at? That I amputated the characters’ mitten-like hands and grafted on new, better ones with four fingers and thumb. Even if that has no measurable impact on the render time (which is possible, but I’ll blame it anyway), posing four fingers instead of, well, one big “finger” takes a lot longer.

