Skip to content
January 3, 2013 / Althir

#78: Differences

The eyebrows are most important.

 

Click the image to see a full resolution version.

I did some mesh work. Rather subtle, but maybe you can spot it. All seriousness aside, obviously the characters aren’t faceless anymore. The added detail however meant that the toon shader I used until now looked absolutely terrible, thus I switched to less cartoony shading and again reduced the outline (I would rather not lose it entirely).

Let me tell you about the “No Flow In CGI” Trope. Cloth is really shitty to do in 3D. I tried that earlier with the robe Bubbles’ doppelganger wore for a time and whereas it wasn’t particularly hard, it took a long time to bake and was rather work-intense to render. That sort of thing is the reason the characters’ clothes appear to be skin-tight – no cloth simulation required. If you think that’s a cheap method, you’re not wrong. And I don’t care. Even professional animation has that, just take the Clone Wars cartoon for example. So I don’t feel bad about it in the slightest.

