Skip to content
September 11, 2012 / Althir

#46: Killed the Messenger

Click the image to see a full resolution version.

Just to show that I have continued my journey through middle earth. Something like halfway through the Fellowship. If you haven’t read the book: Saruman’s robe is described as appearing white while actually woven from threads of every colour, which would result in an effect similar to that robe right there. I did this by applying a texture to the specular colour of the material and it looks pretty neat.

Like the towel before it, the robe is not posed as much as calculated. Not only does this take a while due to the rather advanced collisions it has to calculate (the cloth collides with Bubbles and with itself, since both the robe and character are not exactly easy on the polygons this is quite a hit), it also adds another step to posing Bubbles: I don’t pose the cloth, it’s basically thrown over Bubbles’ mesh. Always from the same starting position, meaning that if I want to have him in any other pose (in other words, for every bloody frame) I have to put in animation keyframes so that this works at all. There’s probably an easier way to do it, or at least a more efficient way, but I don’t know it and the way I do it, it works, so eh.

Oh hey, it’s 9/11! A date that doesn’t matter to me in the slightest! I bet if I were to watch telly (which I do not) there’d be mention of that terrorist attack over a decade ago, trying to make me care. Trying to imply it should matter to me. Fat chance.

2 Comments

  1. Ivan / May 12 2013 12:21 pm

    And randomly, this is the page that appears in the RSS feed this morning.. spoooookky~

    • Althir / May 12 2013 1:11 pm

      I actually edited the annotation a wee bit last night, that’s probably it. Though why that’d make it show up eight months after the fact is beyond me.

Comments are closed.

