Skip to content
July 19, 2012 / Althir

#31: R.A.F.

Click the image to see a full resolution version.

I have watched Hot Fuzz maybe half a dozen times and Game of Thrones no less, but it was not until someone told me that I noticed Michael Armstrong, the mentally retarded super market employee is portrayed by the same bloke who played Sandor “The Hound” Clegane in Game of Thrones. Of course, in Hot Fuzz he is bald and in GoT he’s hairy and has big-ass scars all over one side of his face, but still. I will never be able to unsee that. On a similar note, the amount of GoT actors found in Doctor Who is surprisingly high. One episode (Tooth and Claw in the second series) has Ser Rodrik Cassel and his son Jory as well as Pyat Pree, two episodes from the fifth series feature Ser Jorah Mormont… you get the idea. Going back to Hot Fuzz, one story in the first series also features Simon Pegg.

GIMP 2.8 was released some time ago. There was no update on Lucid and from what I gathered, it’s not even in the 12.04 repositories on account of being released just a few days too late. There is a custom PPA for 12.04, but I wouldn’t try using that on 10.04, who knows what incompatibilities that would lead to. Ugh. No thanks. Instead I did the least intuitive thing possible and downloaded the source code. You can see where this is going. It worked remarkably well however and now I am using the latest stable release. One new feature, which is very much appreciated, is the Presets menu, in which I immediately entered all the settings I require for the comic. Mostly that’s brush scales and the different fonts, the latter because it’s a whole lot quicker than searching through that list of fonts manually every time.

